Related Documents:
Information and Documents for Homeschooling

The Tennessee Department of Education requires parents/legal guardians who plan to conduct home schools during the school year to notify their local public schools' superintendent by August 1st [T.C.A. 49-6-3050 (b) 910] in order not to pay a late fee. An amendment to the law now allows the student(s) to be enrolled between August 1st and September 1st with a $20 late fee per week or portion thereof with an $80 maximum fee per family. The superintendent may waive the September 1st deadline and fee with "good and sufficient" reasons.

This applies to parents/guardians who conducted home school last year or during previous years and to new home school parents/legal guardians. Registration forms may be obtained from Pupil Services located in the School Administration Building at 304 New York Avenue or downloaded off the state website at Home school students registering with an accredited church-related (satellite home school) in grades nine through 12 must register with the Oak Ridge Schools.

Adults planning to conduct an independent home school for children in kindergarten through 8th grade are required to possess a high school diploma or General Education Diploma (GED). Parents conducting home schooling for children in grades nine through twelve must possess a bachelor's degree. This documentation must be submitted with the registration forms when student(s) are initially registered, not every year.

The State of Tennessee recognizes a home school as a "private school". Special education regulations require public schools to discuss special services for private school students on a routine basis. Additionally, the parent or legal guardian of a home school student may request to participate in up to two public school classes to supplement their curriculum. This request must be made in writing to the superintendent for approval and submitted no later than August 1st to the Oak Ridge Schools, Pupil Services, P.O. Box 6588, Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6588.


Parent/legal guardians who home schooled their children during the 2012-2013 school year, must submit the Home School Attendance form to the Oak Ridge Schools, Pupil Services (Attn: Marcia Rose), P.O. Box 6588, Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6588. This form is due every year at the end of the school year. If attendance forms have not been submitted, please do so as soon as possible. This form can be downloaded off the state website at If you have any questions, contact Pupil Services with the Oak Ridge Schools at (865) 425-9026 or fax your application to (865) 425-9061.